Croatian Yearbook of European Law & Policy

Authors, editors, reviewers, librarians, readers, please enter >HERE<


ISSN 1845-5662

Croatian Yearbook of European Law and Policy is a result of the extended engagement of Croatian and international scholars in a joint effort to advance graduate and postgraduate education and law research in the field of European Law, to develop European and regional academic networking, to create professional opportunities for law academics, and to promote academic reflection on European Law and European values.

The Yearbook is closely linked to the University's Jean Monnet Chair of European Public Law and a circle of international partners who are cooperating on a number of European projects in the field of European studies.  The academic networking of scholars from such distant reaches of Europe as Norway and Romania, to mention just these examples, has been recognised by a number of institutional sponsors who have made this volume possible. The European Commission’s Jean Monnet Action sparked a series of events of emerging academic excellence that have fed the present publication and will continue to do so in the future. The Dubrovnik seminar on Advanced Issues of European Law and the accompanying research conference are outstanding examples of such events.

The Yearbook will rely on a wide spectrum of academic activities. It is intended to be an academic forum of emerging European scholarship in the region and to create free academic exchange among scholars from the current Member States and the member states to be.

The specific angle of the Yearbook aims to be critical, realistic, multidisciplinary and regional. The editors recognise that significant answers to legal questions can be found only in a wider political, economic and social context. It is our intention to move away from the textual-formalist reading of law rooted in post-communist legal systems and beyond. It is also our intention to emphasise the policy contents of legal rules and the social function that law performs in democratic pluralistic societies.

The editors welcome contributions on a wide range of European topics. Those with a specific regional perspective on the law and policy of the European Union, its Member States and future member states will be particularly appreciated.


The Yearbook is published with financial assistance of the:

  • University of Zagreb, Faculty of Law
  • Ministry of Science, Education and Sports of the Republic of Croatia


The editorial board is accepting contributions

Papers and subscription requests can be upoaded at

As of December 2014 the Yearbook is referred in:

Subscription to electronic version of the Yearbook is available at:

Availability of the current and back issues

  • Vol. 1 [2005] available

  • Vol. 2 [2006] available

  • Vol. 3 [2007] available

  • Vol. 4 [2008] available

  • Vol. 5 [2009] available

  • Vol. 6 [2010] available

  • Vol. 7 [2011]  available

  • Vol. 8 [2012]  available

  • Vol. 9 [2013] available



University of Zagreb, Faculty of Law


Editorial Board

Stephen Blockmans - Centre for European Policy Studies

Monica Claes - MaastrichtUniversity

Marise Cremona - EUI

Tamara Ćapeta – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb

Iris Goldner Lang – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb

Daniel Halberstam – University of Michigan Law School

Robert Howse - New York University

Adam Lazowski - University of Westminster

Zdenek Kühn – Charles University Prague

Peter Ørebech – University of Tromsø

Giorgio Monti – EUI

Tamara Perišin – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb

Siniša Rodin – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb,

Jo Shaw – University of Edinburgh, School of Law

Branko Smerdel – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb

Sigmar Stadlmeier – Johannes Kepler University of Linz

Bruno De Witte - Maastricht University

Derrick Wyatt – University of Oxford, St. Edmund Hall



Iris Goldner Lang - Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb

Tamara Perišin – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb


Executive Editor

Melita Carević – Faculty of Law, University of Zagreb


Language Revision

Mark Davis

Stephen Hindlaugh


Contact Details of the Editorial Board

Address: Katedra za europsko javno pravo; Pravni fakultet; Ćirilometodska 4; 10000 Zagreb; Croatia



Fax: +385 1 4895 702


Submission of Manuscripts (please visit to submit)

Manuscripts should be submitted to the Editorial Board with a covering letter. When the manuscript is submitted, written assurance must be given that the article has not been published, submitted or accepted elsewhere. Authors should submit a summary of the article and a note on their current affiliation. Citations shoud comply with OSCOLA (The Oxford Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities).

All contributions are subject to a review procedure. According to the Croatian Classification System, all contributions published as ‘articles’ are designated as ‘izvorni znanstveni rad’, and those published as ‘comments’, ‘reports’ and ‘notes’  are evaluated as ‘pregledni znanstveni rad’.


Subscription Information

Volume price: EUR 50 for Europe, EUR 60 for other countries.

Student price: EUR 25.

Subscription orders should be sent to the Editorial Board:


Katedra za europsko javno pravo

Pravni fakultet

Ćirilometodska 4

10000 Zagreb





Fax: +385 1 4895 702



Cover Design

Milan Trenc



Sveučilišna Tiskara d.o.o., Zagreb, Trg m. Tita 14




Copyright (C) 2016 - Pravni Fakultet u Zagrebu, Sva prava pridržana